Geschwister Scholl Institute of Political Science

Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation


Department Governing Board

As regards its formal organization, the GSI is a department and forms part of the LMU’s broader Faculty of Social Sciences. At the level of department, the GSI is governed by a council of directors (Leitungskollegium) whose voting members are the institute’s professors, the womens‘ representative, and a representative of the academic staff ('Mittelbau'). Student representatives (Fachschaft) have an advisory role. The council is headed by two oft he GSI’s ordinary professors who assume the functions of executive and, respectively, deputy director. The administration office and the student office provides administrative and logistical resources.

Executive Director


Prof. Dr. Klaus H. Goetz

Deputy Director







Prof. Dr. Christoph Knill

Managing Director of the Administration Office

Nicolas Lippert, M.A.

Dr. Lars C. Colschen (on leave)