Geschwister Scholl Institute of Political Science

Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation


Double Master Degree with Stockholm University (SU)


Stockholms Universitet (SU) and Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU) are proud to launch a new Double Master Degree. The Department of Political Science at SU and the Geschwister Scholl Institute of Political Science (GSI) at LMU Munich have teamed up to offer a double program by taking the Master in Political Science of Stockholms Universitet and the Master Program in Political Science of LMU Munich.

The study programme at each institution comprises one year. In the first year all students participating in the double degree programme will follow the curriculum at SU. In the second year, students transfer to LMU and continue their studies here. Students successfully participating in the programme and fulfilling all academic and administrative requirements will be awarded the following degrees:

  • LMU: Master of Arts (M.A.) Politikwissenschaft
  • SU: Master of Science (M.Sc.) Political Science

The SU degree will be awarded after the successfully completion of the LMU Master programme.


Students spend the first year of the double degree programme in Stockholm. During this time, students complete a total of 60 ECTS of the Masters in Political Science at SU. In the second year of the programme, students then come to Munich to complete the remaining ECTS and write their Master's thesis at LMU. The master's thesis is written according to the specifications of LMU, but it is possible to have the thesis supervised by a member of academic staff at SU.


In order to participate in the double degree programme, applicants have to satisfy the academic and admission requirements of both institutions. However, students decide to apply either at SU or LMU.

Admission at SU

For information on the admission requirements for the Master in Political Science at SU, please refer to their website.

Admission at LMU

German students must apply at the Geschwister-Scholl-Institute of Political Sciene. International students must apply at both the Geschwister-Scholl-Institute of Political Sciene and the International Office of LMU.

Application Deadline

Deadline for application is April 1. Applications received after the deadline will not be considered.


Double degree students are eligible for Erasmus scholarships during their year at the partner university. Furthermore, students admitted by the LMU are eligible for a monthly DAAD-scholarship during the study period abroad.

Tuition Fees

Students participating in the double degree programme have to pay a semester fee at LMU, consisting of a basic fee for student services ("Grundbeitrag") and a fee for basic off-peak public transportation ("Semesterticket"). For students accepted and sent to SU through LMU as an exchange student, the SU will not charge any fees. All other students are required to pay the tuition fees at SU.

What Students Have to Say

  • Instagram account run by double degree students from LMU.
  • Interview with Tara Barani Hassanlangi, one of the first SU students of the double degree.





Gefördert vom DAAD aus Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)